Back to all Post

Land To Soul – Dae Soo Kim

An aesthetic discovery of Korea through bamboos, forests and sky.

Free through repetition, exhibition of Dae Soo Kim (meditation and nature, ‘Land to soul’) at the Hanmi Museum of Photography in Seoul.

The Seoul Museum of Photography (Hanmi) is organizing a solo exhibition of Dae Soo KIM from September 12 “Land to soul” the artist represents the aesthetics of Korea through his photographic landscapes.

The photographic beginning of Dae Soo Kim was rather experimental, he wanted to express his feelings, then from the forties he started to move towards the photographic essence.

Since 1998, a series of representative photographs of bamboos and forests have been used to reveal the universality that Koreans represent. The exhibition ‘Meditation and Nature’ was organized to present the Korean consciousness by exhibiting his afocal landscape photographs.

Rather than focusing attention on a particular place, Dae Soo Kim looks at nature from an equal and uniform point of view. In the “Bamboo” series the bamboos are aligned, straight, centered and no focus is used. The artist links this carefree attitude with the traditional aesthetic sense of Korea.

By removing the place where the eye can fix itself, the man has no more landmarks and is finally freed from himself. This is very much like the Korean temperament, which is also found in the ‘forest’ and ‘sky’ series.

Dae Soo Kim made her photos with an oriental look. In her landscapes, there is nothing that emphasizes a particular shape, no emphasis on perspective, but rather a kind of ‘indifference’ contained in the screen.

For example, in the ‘forests’ series, even the smallest tree branch is sharp, all the details are present. His landscapes are so sharp that they create two simultaneous ‘known/unknown’ effects.

We hope that you will be able to find the beauty of Korean culture through the meditation that its natures create.

This site is registered on wpml.org as a development site.

Back to all Post

Land To Soul – Dae Soo Kim

Une découverte esthétique de la Corée à travers les bambous, les forêts et le ciel.

Libre à travers la répétition, exposition de Dae Soo Kim (méditation et nature, ‘Land to soul’) au musée de la photographie Hanmi à Séoul. 

 Le musée de la photographie de Séoul (Hanmi) organise une exposition personnelle de Dae Soo KIM à partir du 12 Septembre « Land to soul » l’artiste représente l’esthétique de la Corée à travers ses paysages photographiques. 

Le début photographique de Dae Soo Kim était plutôt expérimental, il voulait exprimer ses sentiments, puis à partir de la quarantaine il a commencé à se diriger vers l’essentiel photographique.

 Depuis 1998, une série de photographies représentatives de bambous et de forêts ont été utilisées pour révéler l’universalité que représente les Coréens. L’exposition ‘Méditation et nature’ a été organisée pour présenter la conscience coréenne en exposant ses photos de paysage afocal.

Plutôt que de concentrer l’attention sur un endroit particulier, Dae Soo Kim regarde la nature d’un point de vue égal et uniforme. Dans la série « Bamboo » les bambous sont alignés, droits, centrés et aucun ‘focus’ n’est utilisé. L’artiste lie cette insouciance avec le sens esthétique traditionnel de la Corée. 

En supprimant l’endroit où l’œil peut se fixer, l’homme n’a plus de repères et est enfin libéré de soi-même. Cela ressemble beaucoup au tempérament coréen, que l’on retrouve également dans les séries ‘forêts’ et ‘ciel’.

Dae Soo Kim réalisait ses photos avec un regard orientale. Dans ses paysages, il n’y a rien qui souligne une forme en particulier, aucun accent sur la perspective, mais plutôt une sorte ‘d’indifférence’ contenu dans l’écran.

Par exemple, dans la série ‘forêts’, la moindre branche d’arbre est nette, tous les détails sont présents.  Ses paysages sont tellement nets qu’ils créent deux effets simultanés « connu / inconnu ».

Nous espérons que vous allez pouvoir trouver la beauté de la culture coréenne à travers la méditation que crée ses natures.

This site is registered on wpml.org as a development site.